Coinbase Expands USDC Trading to a further 85 Countries

Coinbase the United States crypto exchange has today announced the trading of USD Coin (USDC) to a further 85 countries.

The move comes as part of commitments from Coinbase to be able foster the adoption of crypto-currencies and also in promoting the use of a transparent and reliable stable-coin such as USDC. In 12 months Coinbase has expanded its services from 32 countries to 103, (50 of which have been announced today, May 14th).

The Coinbase blog referred to countries such as Argentina and Uzbekistan where ‘consumer prices are expected to inflate by 10–20% in 2020’. The USDC trading option would supposedly provide protection against this as the USDC is fully audited and pegged to the USD 1:1. To coincide with this expansion, the firm also committed themselves to increasing the number of FIAT on-ramps through their partnership with Airtm.

Stablecoins are beneficial to anyone who trades crypto, but also have the potential to materially improve the lives of people in countries where inflation is eroding wealth.

Coinbase mark today’s news as ‘an important milestone for Coinbase and crypto adoption everywhere’ and now means that their operations are live in every major continent. The firm have continued to expand their service offering through 2018 and 2019 and still remain one of the premier exchanges in the World.

Full list of new countries added to Coinbase and Coinbase pro, include:

Angola, Armenia, Aruba, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Benin, Bermuda, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Macau, Maldives, Mauritius, Mongolia, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Rwanda, Serbia, South Africa, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Zambia

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *